02.21.2012

Second day off: Success.

The best of today was watching Schindler’s List for the second time.  The first time I watched it, I was in high school in my social studies class.  At the time, I thought it was so unfair that I had to watch a movie that just absolutely wrecked me and then go to math class.  Now, I think about how unfair it would be NOT to watch it.  What’s unfair is that no one (or at least very few) spoke up for the 6 million Jews that were being herded like cattle to work and die.  And now, it would be unfair not to give a voice to all of those who had their voices stolen.

I was reading Elie Weisel’s acceptance speech after winning the Nobel Peace Prize in 1986, and he said, “And then I explained to him how naive we were, that the world did know and remain silent. And that is why I swore never to be silent whenever and wherever human beings endure suffering and humiliation. We must always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented. Sometimes we must interfere. When human lives are endangered, when human dignity is in jeopardy, national borders and sensitivities become irrelevant. Wherever men or women are persecuted because of their race, religion, or political views, that place must – at that moment – become the center of the universe.”  I read that a few days ago, but it is still resonating within me, and I truly can’t get it out of my mind.  And to be honest, I hope I can never get it out of my mind.

 

Leave a Reply

