10.28.2011

It’s been a few days…correction: It’s been a few LONG days.  They haven’t really been bad or anything; they’ve just been long.  And I’m so glad it’s Friday.

The best of lately was actually a conversation that I had on Wednesdayish of this week, but I remembered it again this morning.  A student walked in and asked me how my day was going, and I said, “Pretty good, what about you?”  He answered that he was tired.  Then he thought about it for a minute and said something along the lines of, “I feel like you’re always good…like you’re never sad or having a bad day or anything.”  And then I told him that although I do have bad days, I feel like when you’re too sad or too mad about something you’re just wasting your life.  I try really hard to make sure that I can go to bed each night assuring myself that I gave it my all and I lived how I wanted.  I also told him about the impact that the death of a family friend had on me last year.  She was only 15, and I was just struck by how short our lives can be.  I promised myself that no matter what happened, I would be able to say at the end of each day that I had truly lived.  It was a great conversation to have with a 15-year-old, and it was completely unplanned.  I don’t know.   I just loved being able to share that with him and being reminded that I’m in the right place at the right time…and I think I have the right attitude.

Leave a Reply

