09.05.2011

It was quite the rainy day here…almost lazy until around 2:00 when some sirens started going off, but we didn’t get much weather action at my house.  Just some rain.  Which was much needed and much appreciated.

Today is my parents’ 30th wedding anniversary.  30 years.  I hope for that in my future.  I am so blessed to watch love continue to grow and play out in front of my eyes.  I know how lucky I am to have two parents who love each other and continually show that love.

The best of today is that in preparation for tomorrow (and in celebration of what I’m calling First Day of School Eve), I baked six mini loaves of banana bread as “thank yous” to six people who have played a major role in my getting a job (oh yeah, I may have forgotten to mention that I am now officially employed and starting teaching tomorrow!!).  There’s just something about a baked good (old school words) that says “thank you” better than a lot of other things in my opinion.  It isn’t a last-minute thought.  It is planned out and thoughtfully executed.  Maybe it’s because I love baking or because I love eating baked things, but I love giving baked goods whether it’s banana bread or a pound cake.  They just show appreciation.  And they taste good, so who doesn’t love that? 🙂

Leave a Reply

